Self Publishing

As an author I have now been e-published by a small indy publisher, in paper as part of the Brave New Girls anthology put together by authors Mary Fan and Tina Closser.

I decided to take a different route with my latest project, a short story titled Milly. I want to make this short story one of many in a series, and the thought of spending all the time involved with traditionally publishing each story did not excited me, so I opted to self publish.

I am lucky that at this point in my writing journey I have come across numerous helpful sources to help make self publishing a viable option for myself. First off I know several editors, both copy and line. Drawing on these friendships allows me to get my books print ready, something I would never be able to do with my own lack luster editing skills. Secondly I am extremely blessed to know several fantastic artists who, being wonderful friends were willing to work with me to create the cover for my story for an amazing rate.

I chose to take the simplest route with self publishing, releasing my story as an ebook on Amazon and enrolling it the Kindle Unlimited program. Kindle made the process simple, guiding me through the upload process with a step by step system.

My goal with Milly isn’t to make money at least not right away. Milly is the first step in gaining exposure as an author, which I feel makes something like Kindle Unlimited so useful to me. I hope that by regularly releasing new short stories I will be able to build an audience that will support the large projects that are simmering away on my back burner. The idea of ‘giving’ my work away for a reduced rate doesn’t bother me, I’ve got my eye on the long term prize.

Check out your copy here on Amazon

One thought on “Self Publishing

Leave a comment